Sunday, February 22, 2009

Indie Spirit Award Winners!

Still the best way to get pumped up for the Oscars, the Independent Spirit Awards ceremony took place today, and featured all the usual drinks, dirt-cheap sets and debauchery. Well, maybe the debauchery was a little more abundant than usual, courtesy of one Mickey Rourke. The censor-free broadcast allowed the Best Lead Actor winner to, well, be himself, resulting in an all-stops-pulled speech that made his other acceptance spiels this season seem tame. I'd imagine the the execs over at ABC are plenty nervous right now, repeatedly checking to make sure their BLEEP devices are working properly.

Best Feature: Darren Aronofsky, The Wrestler
Best Director: Tom McCarthy, The Visitor
Best Actor: Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler
Best Actress: Melissa Leo, Frozen River
Best Supporting Actor: James Franco, Milk
Best Supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Best Screenplay: Woody Allen, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Best First Screenplay: Dustin Lance Black, Milk
Best First Feature: Charlie Kaufman, Synecdoche, New York
John Cassavetes Award: In Search of a Midnight Kiss
Best Cinematography: Maryse Alberti, The Wrestler
Best Foreign Language Film: The Class
Best Documentary: Man on Wire
Someone to Watch Award: Lynn Shelton, My Effortless Brilliance
Piaget Producers Award: Heather Ray, Frozen River
Truer Than Fiction: Margaret Brown, The Order of Myths
Robert Altman Ensemble Award: Synecdoche, New York

No comments: